Wednesday, December 4, 2013

2014 Reading Challenge: Seriously Series

January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2014

Since Seriously Series 2013 gave me the kick in the pants to clear out some outstanding series (and get some rereads in that would have otherwise been pushed aside!), I'm bringing this challenge back in 2014! *cheers quietly as I think of all the books I have waiting for me to read them*

The guidelines are pretty much the same as last year. Let's take a look, shall we?

General Overview
How serious about series are you? We'll find out in 2014.
In the summer of 2012, Amanda @
On a Book Bender and I hosted an informal challenge that focused on completing books in series that we owned. It was enough of a success that we decided we wanted to turn it into a year-long challenge--with a few minor changes.
While Amanda is unable to host it with me this year, she is a huge part in the creation and implementation of this challenge and I couldn't have attempted to put it together without her. Thank you, Amanda!

For this challenge, a series is defined as a collection of two or more books that belong together and where the second book is published before the end of 2014. This is a pretty broad definition of series, and it includes traditional series like the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, less traditional series like Stephanie Perkins's YA contemps (Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door), and shorter series, like Kendare Blake's Anna series (Anna Dressed in Blood, Girl of Nightmares).
A series is considered complete in one of two ways: either as finishing all the books that you own in the series or as obtaining and reading all the books that have been published in the series to date. Because we don't want this challenge to become a financial burden, how you choose to define completion is left to your discretion.

How It Works
To allow for the greatest level of flexibility, we've separated series into three categories: series started before 2014, series started in 2014, and series rereads.

  • Series started before 2014 are defined as series that you have started reading before Jan. 2014 and that you still have unread books to get current in (or finish) the series.
  • Series started in 2014 are defined as any series that you start reading between Jan. and Dec. 2014, and the second book in the series must be published before December 2014.
  • A series reread is defined as books that are part of a series that were read before Jan. 2014 and that are reread between Jan. 2014 and Dec. 2014. A series reread does NOT have to include the full series.

For each category, there are different levels of seriousness about series that you can choose. Semi-serious is reading 1 to 6 series, seriously serious is reading 7 to 12 series, super seriously serious is reading 13 to 18 series, and seriously spectacular series star is reading more than 18 series.

You choose which categories you want to attempt and which level to shoot for.

Goals and Progress
Want to sign up? Create a post or page about this challenge, what goals you would like to accomplish (
mine is here, as an example--currently, it's my 2013 page, but it'll switch over to the 2014 challenge in January), and then link up your post here at Reading the Paranormal. In addition to the sign up, every three months, there will be a check-in, where you can report your progress and reassess your original goals. That schedule will look like the following:

  • April 1st: January--March
  • July 1st: April--June
  • October 1st: July--September
  • January 1st, 2015: October--December

This reading challenge is hosted by Reading the Paranormal. For more information and to sign-up, please see this post.